Prep my home recordings for a real mix/master

Hi All!!

I just finished recording an album. I’m a hobbyist but I feel like all my tracks are fairly well recorded.

But… now what?!? I want to send them to someone who can mix properly - do I just leave everything as is and send basic stems with no plug ins etc? Or should I try and do my own rough mix so I can show a mix engineer how I kinda want it to sound like and they can adjust/polish? Or do I do a full mix on my own, send that as a kind of reference but then still give “naked” stems? This is all new to me and I don’t want to do anything unnecessary or something that’s detrimental to the process.

Any advice would be most welcome and appreciated!!

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Congrats on recording an album! Quite a feat

That depends on your mixing skills. Normally you wouldn’t want to give your mixer a bias unless you are sure about how you want your mix. Most good mixers mix for the “genre” and use pro reference tracks already. Unless you have specific needs for nostalgic elements or want to preserve a particular nuance, I wouldn’t give a rough mix. Just give the multi-tracks. But, a pro mixer would more than likely not be influenced by the rough mix anyway, so if you feel better sending one, no harm in it.

Thanks so much for the insight, I really appreciate it! I used to participate on this site a million years ago but life got in the way of my hobby - really trying to get back into it and hope to be here a little more frequently now - great community here! Thanks again :slight_smile:

1 Like

Congratulations!

Speaking for myself, I like to get the “raw” tracks to work from…

Now that doesn’t necessarily mean they wouldn’t have any processing at all on them. It all depends on how confident the recordist is in their decisions at the recording stage.